Weights for speed

Hello Charlie,

I would like to ask you, in Weights for speed 2 you were talking about how many reps and sets are good for improoving the strength. You recommend 5x5.

My max squat for 5 reps is 365.More working with 315. My question is: how should I do 5x5?

ex.A) 1xXrep with bar
1x3-5rep with 135
1x3-5rep with 225
5x5rep with 315

ex.B) 1xXrep with bar
1x5rep with 135
1x5rep with 225
1x5rep with 255
1x5rep with 285
1x5rep with 315

What is the best idea? A or B? Or another?

Thank you for your answer.

Pavel

I would go with option A- the rest is warm-up

Charlie, if his 5RM is 365, that puts his 1RM at around 417 (according to my charts). So, 315 is about 75% of 1RM. Is that the intensity you would recommend for the 5 x 5?

Thank you, Charlie.

100% for 5 rep is 365. 315 for 5 reps is about 86%.
I am able to do right now prb. one set for 365 not 5x5. It is too much.

My rest is around 3 min between sets.

PS: Charlie I studied FTVS (Charles University) in Prague, you mentioned, a couple of time that guys did good job for 100m analysis in 1987 and 1988 during WCh and OG. One of my teachers was Mr. Hlina, who was there and worked on it.

Probably not but that’s an individual call.
As the squat involves muscles directly involved in speed, I’d rather see him start where he can handle it and move it up as it proves easy, rather than set a weight via a rule and find the loading an impediment elsewhere in training.
I would be more inclined to stick closer to that thinking with the upper body.
Thoughts?

5x5 at 75% is not easy esp if you are working with a speed-power athlete whos fiber makeup is a little different from most.