Do protein shakes work?

Recently I’ve been wondering if protein/recovery drinks actually do anything for you.
I’ve been using maximuscle promax for 2 months and have noticed jack sh*t in my recovery or bodyweight. This stuff is also 50 euro a tub.
I’d like to know what shakes (or supplements) people have used that had noticible effects and would strongly recommend to me.
Thanks

Well it’s hard to say when you haven’t listed your training, diet, etc. I looked up the ingredients list for that product and it contains 23g PRO, 2g CHO, 2g Fat. Not much of a recovery drink there. Recovery formulas typically have a 2:1 or even 3:1 ratio of CHO:PRO. You aren’t getting the benefits of a recovery drink without a carbohydrate source added to the drink.

Sorry to say but protein shakes aren’t a quick fix-- just a convenient and easier way to fill any gaps you may have in your diet.

I’m aware they’re not a quick fix :wink: but i expected something decent when combined with my diet (good food, just hard to get enough calories).
I think for such small benefits of the drink I was considering spending the money on therapy.
So a good shake would be say 50g carbs/25g protein? I was led to believe that carbs were the spawn of satan in a protein shake.

I would even go up to 80-100grms of very fast acting carbs.

In a recovery drink carbs are the exact my friend. You need the carbs to start the insulin spike, shuttle the aminos to muscles, refill glycogen stores, etc. I agree with tamfb, post workout 80-100g is a good start. Carbs are NOT the enemy post workout.

My worry is that the carbs in these drinks will be mainly sugar. I just checked out surge recovery on T-nation which has 51g of carbs but 42g of sugar, I might as well eat a chocolate bar with my shake.