Weightlifting To Get Legs Stronger

Wassup everyone,

I was wondering if anybody could guide me in the rite direction to workouts/weightlifting to get my legs stronger. I’m a track and field athlete, my event is the High Jump. Right now I have a personal best of 7’1 no weight room training just natural hops. However many coaches have told me in order to clear higher heights like 7’4 7’5 I have to have strong legs. I’m basically a noob in the weight room. I heard squats really strengthen tha legs and Plyo’s help a lot also. Never maxed at squatting but 225 is a struggle (SMH) I really dont know any other good workouts. Also, how do you progress in weight each week?

If anybody could help, I’d appreciate it.

I would keep it simple:

Phase 1: 4-8 weeks
mon/fri
squat 4x8
bp 4x8
row 4x8
glute ham 4x8

wed:
deadlift 4x5
pullups 4x8
db ip 4x8

Phase 2: 4-8 weeks
mon:
squat 4x3/5x2/5x1 (not to failure, est 90-95%)
bp 4x5/4x4/5x5
pullups 4x5/4x4/5x5
glute ham 3x5

thur:
snatch dl 3x3/4x2/5x1
spilt squat 2x5
db bp 3x5
db row 3x5

I agree, keep it simple. Weights can help but I know many an example of good high jumpers starting to lift weights, overdoing it, and end up jumping lower heights.

what is the glute ham exercise.I’m looking for something to strengthen the hamstrings .cheers.

Manual gh - aka Russian Leans

//youtu.be/oa6Ai5ty6oY

Gh machine:

//youtu.be/dgLY8laPytg

Appreciate the help man!

Thanks.HELPS HEAPS.

The type of weightlifting being presented in the thread is absurd, i really don’t get this!! Training 4x8 will result in muscle growth. And then flexing it to 4x4 will result in more muscle strength but not enough to account for the weight gain. As a coach, one must always consider pros and cons. For every pound gained, be it muscle or not, it has to give more than it takes. What i am saying is, if a pound cost more to move 100m than it gives (which it will if muscular hypertrophy is being trained) it will be a bad training.