Need help increasing my push up max

Hi all, I’m joing the Air Force (I leave for Basic on Nov 11th) I can already meet the minimum push up requirment which is 45 in 2minutes. I am trying to get up 75 in 2 minutes which is considered honor grad standards, all the running and situps I can do, its just when I try to do the push up thing I seem to start out good but the more times I try to train push ups the harder it is to do. I do take time off but then its even harder when I start back, almost like I have never done them before.

So long story short does anyone know of a way to increase once push ups? Cuz my program does not work, I cant get to a gym to do lifts but I do have some dumbells that go up to 35lbs. How often should I do them, how many sets/reps, how should I rest after sets/workouts? Any help would be great. Thanks

I’m in a similiar situation and I can’t say I’m having great sucess, but I’m just starting. Charlie used to have his athletes do depletion pushups (i.e. pushups until you drop, 90s rest, pushups until you drop, 90s rest, pushups until you drop) to increase BP strength as well as pushup max. I do this a lot, but I’m now also trying to incorporate variation and I think this will yield greater results. For instance in the above scenario I might give myself 3 minutes rest or 30s rest, or maybe try to do 3 sets of an equal number. The rests can be varied in that situation too. There are many different ways to slice it.
You also are dealing with the time aspect which I can’t really comment on.

Depletion work would of been my reccommendation too. I think it works very well.

My HS athletes went form 25-30 to 60 push ups…depletion rocks! You can do bench on the same day and when push-ups are high do them on tempo days…I love depletion during the GPP.

Did you have a number you had them shoot for in pullups/chinups as well during their GPP?