Age considerations

I’ve been following most of the principles in CFTS for a few years now. I think they work well even though I’m now a senior (50). Curious to know if there are other seniors on this site and would like to hear opinions about whether adaptations should be made for those of us who wake up a little more stiff and sore after a hard workout than we did when we were younger.

During indoor season, I do speed, plyos and weights on M-W-F and tempo on T-T and sometimes Saturday with Sunday off. Volume on speed days is about 300 meters and on tempo days about 2000 meters (50-70%). Later, I back off on plyos and weights to 2x/wk. Sometimes, I throw in some extra rest rather than a tempo workout when my joints and back are aching too much.

I’m closing in on 40, and am not a sprinter by trade, although I have taken it up recently as a hobby. [If you can call all-consuming interest and commitment a ‘hobby’!] I can tell you two things from my perspective:

1] Two speed days rather than three works much better for me. Fresher, faster, less injured, more able to actually work for a living.

2] Doing weights on speed days [even weights in half-assed fashion which is not my personality] kills me-I have to do them the following day even after only 200-300m speed work. Otherwise, the CNS fatigue is way too much.

PS-plyos 2-3 times a week too? How do you recover my friend? I think my recovery ability must be less than yours. Nice to hear from a masters guy on the board.

I’m 40 next year ( I’m saying it while I still can lol ) - and I’ve found that two speed days and one pure weights day makes life a lot easier CNS wise and also allows for easier strength gains and maintenance -

I do minimal weights after track - but I try and restrict it to one compound lift if possible -

Tempo for me is largely done on an x-trainer - to save my achilles tendons - but I would use the pool if this was an option ( our local pool is full of viruses )