whining about hamstring problems

All right. I sort of feel like an ass posting my problem here `cause I think I’m older than almost everyone else and FEMALE, no less, but of all the training forums I’ve seen on the web, this one seems to have the most knowledgeable crowd. And I’m really frustrated and don’t have anyone else to ask for help.

Here’s the deal: I’m 39. I started training for masters track and field four years ago. I had coached gymnastics and done weight training for years before that, so I had a lot of strength and static flexibility when I started. But the only running I’d done was recreational jogging, which I hate (when I was kid, I was always the fastest one in my class, so I knew I had some sprint in me).

A track coach saw that I had a lot of upper body strength and suggested I give the heptathlon a try. (Don’t laugh - at the masters level, the participants range is from highly competitive ex-collegians to recreational nobodies like me, so it’s not as weird as it sounds.) I threw myself into training and learning the events because I really liked it and it was a great challenge. I watched other master track athletes compete and was amazed at what some of them could do, so I was hopeful.

But as you might have guessed, I’ve been injured almost non-stop. For the past couple of years, it’s been a series of pulled hamstrings, one after another, that seem to happen when I start increasing my sprint work. Even without the pulled muscles, my hams are constantly tight and I have difficulty sitting for long periods of time. I’m just sick of it. I could blame the earlier injuries on a lack of preparation for the intensity of the training, but after four years of this stuff, shouldn’t I be prepared?

And yes, I’m making training adjustments for my age, and yes, I’ve learned a lot from stupid training mistakes I made at first, when I didn’t know what I was doing (not that I’m an expert now). But why did I pull a hamstring again just last night?