What type of times must you run to start recieving sponsorship

Ok I am no proffessional athlete. I aspire to be one but I have alot of work ahead of me. I have run a 20.97 and a 10.33. My 10.33 was last week which was my first meet of the year. There were strong head winds also. My goal is to next week improve on both of my PR’s if weather permits. I would love to simply train and pick up a sponsor one day so I can do so without working 50 hours a week.

Qualifying for the “B” standard U.S. trials in the 200 is 20.75 and the 100 is 10.25. If you run both of these standards could you possibly find a sponsorship? And how does that work? perhaps Mr. Francis may know how this works. Thanks

I’m not sure, but I do believe that Donovan Bailey was running 10.3’s before he started to get serious about track and work with Dan Pfaff. Give it a shot man, you’ll surely regret it if you don’t…

it also comes down to the marketability of the athlete. Look at tennis, players that dont reach finals can make millions cause they are hot. I have seen guys run great, and make nothing. You gotto find contacts in the industry, even guys who know guys. if you just go your own way, not saying anything to anybody, you get nowhere. So, keep asking around.

also, perhaps you could work part time?? 20hrs wk?

until you get a big sponsorship deal you could try asking local businesses if they would like to sponsor you.

A much more logical approach. Even if you do get a shoe sponsor, it’ll cost you in the long run if you really improve a lot and you’re already signed up for peanuts- like Fasuba, you’re stuck without enough money to really get the job done.

Some ways to get started –

http://www.onlinesports.com/sportstrust/creative36.html

http://www.onlinesports.com/sportstrust/creative37.html