Transition from Five to Three Steps in Between 110HH...Help!

I put this in the hurdles thread, but I’m also starting a new one to see if I can get more responses.

Alright, this is my first year hurdling and League Finals are coming up next week. At the beginning of the year my coach told me that I needed to become more flexible in order to 3 step in between each hurdle (110 HH). Well now I’ve reached the point where I believe I am flexible enough and have a long enough stride to do the three step. So my question is, how should I go about adjusting to this? Should I lower the second hurdle until I’m comfortable and then raise it up as I get better?

For those who would like to know here are my stats and personal records…

100m 12.65 (HT)
110m HH 19.8 (HT)
300m IH 48.49 (FAT or CAT or whatever its called)

Age - 15
Height - 5’11"
Weight - 151lbs
BF% - 10%

Squat - 220lbs 1RM
Bench - 170lbs 1RM
Power Clean - 155lbs 1RM

So as you can see from the difference in my 100m and 110HH times, my stride and timing are killing me. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Lots of things need to be in place to 3 stride properly. You can lower the hurdles and move them in closer to begin with until you can do this fast. Then, slowly raise them and move them further apart. It is like lifting weights…you have to start where you have to start and you increase the weight as you go along. Can’t be rushed.

Is it true that you need to be flexible in order to 3 step?

To a degree yes. It could just be an athlete specific thing that his coach noticed was lacking. Obviously there is more to it than flexibility.