Traning Regimen Needed!!

I am new to this board, and was told by a friend of mine to join. I am a High School Coach (A young Coach by the way) and I’m still learning stuff everyday. The thing is I have a runner who has run 11.0 (11.27 FAT and 11.28) and 22.6 (22.84 twice FAT) He is gonna be a senior this up comming year and obviously the goal is to go break 11 seconds in the 100, but he is not doing winter track (Never has either) and is gonna play basketball. I know sprinters go through lots of phazes during the course of the season, and the thing is when he comes out for Spring he will have roughly only 3 weeks to train for our first meet, which has made me to start to consider training him through the first couple of meets. At the start of last spring season, the first couple of weeks, I focused on strength work ( Repeat 200’s in 27-28, 200 in 28-29, walk a 100 and then 100 all out, some 20 meter start work and lots of polymetrics) As we moved further into the season we started to concentrate on more raw speed work (150’s, flying 30’s, 60’s) Obviously he became a lot faster (11.6 and 23.5 to open the season on March 2nd, to 11.0 and 22.6 in Late May) But I would like to know better ways to train him at the beggining, middle and end of the season. I’ve searched the boards before I made this post, and looked at old posts, but wanted to make this post for some insight. Thoughts??

Basketball may be tiring but it’s not all that hard of a workout. What time is his practice? If he has time he should do weights or a little speed work before or after basketball it won’t hurt.

Welcome to the forum.

Since hes playing basketball and only has 3 weeks of preparation for indoor im not sure what i would do. Typically General prep would be 4 weeks, Special Prep. would be 4 weeks, and precomp would be around 8 weeks.