Suggestions?

Hey sprinters. I’m a newbie and ran a 400M yesterday for the first time ever. Ran it in 63s. I was hoping to break 60 at least…disappointed! Anyways, I felt like I was in slow motion in the last 80M and at or around the turn my hamstrings just cramped up. It was chilly/windy outside…almost about to rain. What should I focus on in training? Also, I ran some hard hills 2 days before. Is it cool to not rest before races at the beginning of season? I will want to peak in summertime.

Mike

Are you training on your own or do you have a coach? How old are you?

WHEN YOU HAVE TIME, read everything on Lactate Threshold Training in ‘Fundamentals’ - you’ll get a LOT of knowledge and recommendations how to improve the last part of the 400m.

Good luck! The 400m is an EXCITING event!!

welcome to my world :stuck_out_tongue:

SC’s advice is VERY good, but what would also be helpful is an understanding of your background and any other race times.

No coach. Just started training about a month ago. I did middle distance running past 2 years. Ran 5K in 18:04 (best at the time). I’m 27 years old. Never ran in high school/college.

Mike

What is your training like now?

I would work on GPP, check video for sale on site. Look at 400m as a Speed event (or speed based)

Read the threads mentioned and take note of KitKats suggestions.

Good Luck

It’s a speed event if you run 45. If you run 60, not as much.

An 18-minute 5K is a pretty good base fitness level. If you’re going to be running 400m, you’ll have to build up your speed, and get used to running at higher speeds. Your body & muscles aren’t used to that sort of output if you’ve been running middle distance.

What is GPP?

You need to do a bit of research on the forum - search for GPP and look around.

Essentially it is one of the training phases that makes up peroidicised training periods.