Strength blocks vs Bodybuiding blocks Chris T's book

I want to begin incorporating the ideas presented in Christian’s book in my workouts and would appreciate some clarification on the loading weeks for block periodization. For the athlete percentages are given and for the bodybuilder it is recommended using a load close to best on all sets. Would this mean that each set for each week is worked to just about positive failure? (maybe 1 or 2 reps left in the bank?) So for the 4th week of the block I would not decrement the load, simply follow the prescribed set and rep scheme and always lifting close to failure?

Also, I’ve determined that I am predominantly fast twitch with a less than efficient nervous system. I assume all my sets should be as explosive as possible while controlling the negative? This is my first time trying to develop my own program and I just want to make sure I am going about it the right way.

I’m not really an athlete, more of a recreational weight lifter and am posting this here simply because this is where I purchased the books. I hope that’s ok.

Thanks.

I want to begin incorporating the ideas presented in Christian’s book in my workouts and would appreciate some clarification on the loading weeks for block periodization. For the athlete percentages are given and for the bodybuilder it is recommended using a load close to best on all sets. Would this mean that each set for each week is worked to just about positive failure? (maybe 1 or 2 reps left in the bank?) So for the 4th week of the block I would not decrement the load, simply follow the prescribed set and rep scheme and always lifting close to failure?

CT, like a lot of others reccomends not working to failure. Week 4 can be summarised as maintaining the intensity but reducing the volume by 50%.