SPP help

First of all I’m a sophomore in college, a hockey player and a wannabe sprinter :D. I play club hockey at school and its not all that competitive and while I am training to both improve in hockey and sprinting I think my main training focus is for sprinting. That said I never ran track before indoor this year (one meet, 8.01 FAT in the 60m) and I’ve always been a “slow white boy”. I finished my hockey season at the end of February and did a 6 week GPP (losely based on the GPP download). I now have 11 weeks of SPP before I start a S+C internship over the summer where I will be working out with other interns and players. The program is similar to MBoyle’s stuff, for those who are familiar. It doesn’t include much speed or accel work from what I gather so I am going to kind of use it as a GPP2 (I think there is some significant weights volume and conditioning) and then do 5ish weeks of a “SPP2” before hockey starts in the fall.

So I just got the Vanc '04 download and I watched it and I’ve been studying the graphs etc. and trying to see how I can incorporate the concepts and trends into my training as well as seeing where I’ve been “right” and “wrong” in my training recently. I think I have been too afraid of volume recently, especially following my GPP period where ~750m/week of accel work (albeit on turf not the track) 3/wk was fine as well as tempo/general conditioning and weights 3/wk. Over the last few weeks the intensity of speed work and weights has gone up but I’ve been afraid of doing more than ~300-400m accel/wk and I think I’ve put too much focus on weights rather than making speed the primary focus. Also I’ve gone to two days/wk and I am getting lingering soreness whereas with 3/wk during GPP, I guess the frequency was high enough that I got very little soreness. Here is what I wrote up for the remainder of my SPP

[b]WEEK1(300m)-
Mon(120m):
3x4x10m
FSQ 4x4 (+5lbs/wk)
SL RDL 2x5
Push up 2x5
Row 2x5

Fri(180m):
1x3x10m
1x5x30m
FSQ 4x4
SL RDL 2x5