special endurance 1&2 for 100/200m

excuse me i’m a newbie on this board could coach francis tell me whether he included special endurance 1 and 2 for his 100/200m athletes and if this affected their 100 time also if he did how often would he recomend it. sorry that i’m throwing lots of questions at you but did ben johnson perform special endurance 1and 2 sessions. any help would be appreciated :confused:

Speed Trap explains all of Bens Training, it is a great read for only $14.99.

By the end of his career Ben only trained out to 150m the majority of the time because this was where his strength lied. Other athletes may benefit from doing SPE2. Charlie may have discussed this somewhere in the archieve.

where did he discus it do you have a link. also i don’t have any money to spend so any info would be great :o

Special End. II is worked on folllowing gerneral Prep after acceleration is in place. It is done once a week. Later on special endurance 1 and speed endurance is also added. When into heavy comp. the meets may act as the special endurance.

so in pre comp to comp phase i could do something like:
mon: acc dev weights plyos
tues: ext tempo and gs circuit
wed: speed e or special e 1 weights plyos
thurs:ext tempo and gs circuit
fri: max v weights plyos
sat meet or special e 2 gs or bb circuit
sun: rest

Looks pretty good except that you dont want the two high intensity days in a row on friday and saturday. If you have a meet on saturday then change friday to a low intensity pre-meet prep day and then compete. If not, then change saturday to something similar to thursday or tuesday, with general strength stuff and/or extensive tempo.

As a general rule, wednesday will be the day where you place your special endurance (whether it’s 1 or 2).

Agreeing with Mr. C you wouldnt want to do 2 high int. days back to back and you certainly wouldn’t want a high intensity max v day 24 hours before a meet. If you are not competing I would suggest this…