Realistic Goals

Hi all

I am a beginner sprinter looking to set a goal to try to reach in the 100m over the next year.

My current stats are:

Age - 21
Height - 6’4
Weigth - 180 lb
100m - 12.38 (hand timed on a wet track)
30m - 4.09 (hand timed in good conditions)
Squat - 220 lb
Bench - 220 lb
Vert - 30 inches

I have been lifting weights for a while now but have only been training for sprinting for 3 weeks so far.

Would it be unrealistic to aim for a low 11 sec 100m (FAT) by February 2009 (southern hemisphere summer)?

I am extremely unfit so I am planning on following a L-S program with a very long GPP phase.

Set the goals small first… One step at a time.

Sub 12 first

Then 11.80

Then 11.50

etc etc… I think it’ll help you keep at it without getting frustrated, while at the same time staying positive by reaching goals throughout your training.

Ok sounds like a good plan

I will be starting my L-S plan in June, so I will aim to at least break 12 seconds by then.

Approximately how fast would I need to run the 60m (HT) in order to break 12 secs FAT.

According to a speed chart saved on my computer you would need to run 7.5 HT for the 60 and 4.54 HT 30m in order to run 12.01 FAT.

These numbers seem too slow to me, especially the 30.

Here is a link to the chart
http://www.trackandfieldnews.com/technique/109-Frank_Dick.pdf

Here’s another chart for you, this one might be a little better.

http://mortworld.com/images/usatf3.gif

I found it in this thread http://www.charliefrancis.com/community/showthread.php?t=14638

Thanks man

According to this chart a 4.22 30m would be required. That sounds more realistic than the chart that I linked.

Your squat and bench press are even? If you have that type of upper body strength, relatively you should be 300+ on the squat approx. That will definitely lower your times.

Yep, currently they are even.