Racing Early, or Not?

the main focus/peak for my indoor season is 27/2/05 in 200m

keeping in mind that there aren’t many competitions before that, should i “risk” and have an early race mid of Jan -even if this means interrupting somewhat my training plan (or not)- or should i wait and have a possible race the weekend just before the peak? or even straight the peak race as my first one, having fully completed my training plan?

and should these earlier races, if any, be shorter (i.e., 60m), or the racing distance itself (200m)?

Any suggestions appreciated!

I’m no expert, but to me it would make sense to have at least one race about a month earlier at the distance you will be competing at in order to see how you perform in a competitive environment and how you stack up to others. Also, it can allow you a chance to assess your weaknesses in the race that you can improve upon before your peak.

i absolutely agree with this; i’m just thinking of the “messing up” in the training plan as i won’t have done much of a speed endurance work, or is it worth it?
thanks!

You need a certain level of competitive experience within the season to be ready. Usually 3 to 4 races for the 200m and 5 or 6 for the 60m- and with a 10day taper before the main event, it brings you to a starting date of around mid-Jan.

even if you are not really ready for this first race in mid Jan? i was planning on starting working on speed endurance with 80-120(-150)m just after Xmas (after finishing some work with split 60s), which doesn’t leave me much time for preparation for this first 200m…

unless i regard this race as a speed end session itself, continue the rest of the training almost as planned (working meanwhile even more on speed end) and focus on a peak at the end of Feb, improving speed end through previous races, as well (if any), “not worrying” too much about the results (except monitoring); would that be ok?

thanks!