Peroneal tendon injury

Hi,
Has anyone ever had a peroneal tendon injury? Mine is stretched or partially torn and it keeps subluxing. The orthopedist I saw didn’t really know what to do about it. Any guidance you could give would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Luckily I haven’t had a problem with the tendon, but my peroneals are always acting up. I really can’t think of anything that you can do directly for the tendon except rest it and avoid further strain. Maybe heat packs for 20min every night to try and increase circulation, which is usually poor. However, I would recommend being consistent with massaging the peroneal muscles, since your tendon injury was probably the result of spasmed peroneals not doing their job, with the result being excessive loading shifted to the tendon.

I’m not an expert and not reccomending anything other than seeing a good therapist - but I would also look at some of the most recent research into eccentric loading for tendon injuries.

Hedge,

What do you mean by your tendon "keeps subluxing"? Subluxations happen to joints, not tendons. 

There are three peroneus muscles (longus, brevis and tertius). Which one is the one you’re having problems with?

flash’s suggestions should only be used if the tendon is not inflamed, which it probably will be if the injury occured recently. You can try to massage and heat-treat the muscle belly but keep away from the injured area of the tendon.

Regards,
Robin.

That’s correct. Since the post was posted a while ago I was assuming that the acute inflamation has died down by now. Like I wrote, there’s not a lot you can do directly for the tendon itself but rest it and avoid further aggravation. Very frustrating.

Along with what flash mentioned, find a good ART Provider. From what you’re saying, it sounds like the Superior and Inferior Peroneal Retinaculum need to be treated, along with the posterior talofibular and calcaniofibular ligament.