New to 400m

Hi guys, question for the 400m coaches/athletes who post on the forum. I coach a guy who is just about to turn 17, his background is in 100/200 11.3/23.2 but was becoming frustrated with the 100m and after a couple of decent 4x400m runs fancied a crack at the 400m individual. He had his first race at the weekend, running 52.67, going through 200m in 24.3 (planned for 25.0) and 300m in 36.9 (planned 38.0) not bad till 350m then it felt like a bear had jumped on his back.

My question is should I try to get him to run slower through 200m (bearing in mind he said it felt very comfortable), or
same pace at 200m but not to push the 3rd 100m quite so much (12.6 in the race) or

keep doing the same with the plan being the last 50m will get quicker as he gets stronger.

I’m a bit reluctant to slow him down, bearing in mind it was the first race of the season and he will be competing at 200m as well.

Looking forward to your replies as ever.

I’m not an expert, and there are several on this board that may chime in, but I’ll start it off. If he is capable of 23.2 for 200m, then 24.3 (+1.1) is about right for the first 200m. His second 200m split is then 28.37, and that is the real area that needs addressing. My personal opinion would be to keep the first 200m fairly close to +1, or maybe +1.5, and work on special endurance to bring up the second 200m split. How to do that during the season is a little beyond my expertise, and hopefully others will offer suggestions.

Here is a great learning opportunity for you both. I wouldn’t change anything up just let him run a few more before you start to manipulate things. This will provide you with much information. If you try to adjust variables after his first 400m you may not identify what is it you need to adjust or modify and you may unintentionally have him start to put barriers up…not a good thing for a 400m guy.