Masters training.

Hello all,

I have been lurking here for years, and finally got a coach in October of 2007 and have been training out of York University in Toronto since about that time. I am 34 and run in the sub-Masters category in OMTFA and all-comers meets. I’m tall and lanky (6’3, 190 lbs), and suspect that the 200 and 400 will be better races for me than the 100 will ever be, but I couldn’t care less about my 200 and 400 times, my ultimate goal is to run a 10.99 before I die.

I think it will help me be a better coach in the future to have an actual understanding of what is going on within your body when running decent high school times (which is likely what I will eventually coach), despite the fact I am starting ridiculously late.

I have some general questions about improvement. I am by no means a talented sprinter, but I have been making some sound improvements since I started. This is my first year of running, and I ran a couple of 60 m races in 8.46 and 8.52 FAT during February. I feel like I have improved a fair amount since then both strength and technique wise. I have also dropped from about 200 lbs to 190 lbs since February. (I can’t believe the difference that sprinting has made to my body. It is truly jaw-dropping compared to my former 5k - 10k running)

Recently in training (early May), I have been running 19.00 for the 150m and 29.35 for 220m.

I have a 100m race coming up on May 26th, and am wondering what kind of time I can expect to run for the 100m. Obviously, I am only learning how to start properly, but am hopeful of running my best. Is running a 12.9 FAT within the realm of possibility before July?

I do two speed sessions a week along with two tempo sessions, and some complementary but fairly light weight room work.

Any comments or pointers would be appreciated.

Hello T,

Running a 10.99 FAT coming from a 19" 150m at 34 is way unrealistic.

Done with the bad news.