Jumpers knee

I bet this topic has been talked about many many times, but I’m 16 years old right now. and I have jumpers knee in my left knee, I’m taking glucosamine right now and it helps alot, been taking it easy for about a month and a half, but it will flare up again whenever I jump off my left knee a few times, I need more recovery time?

I been doin R.I.C.E. too but its just not workin. :frowning:

You have to do a lot more than that to help your jumpers knee (aka patellar tendonitis). Stretch the rectus femoris and i.t. band, as well as the quadricep and hip flexor. You’ll also need to strengthen your knee (especially the VMO).

Ok what is a rectus femoris, and how do I stretch it.

and whats a VMO, I’m a noob :stuck_out_tongue:

Jason1234, rectus femoris runs from the nearly the top of your pelvis
(the boney front part of your pelvis) to the bump at the top of your shin bone. Search the web for a picture of a quad stretch. Most importantly to also lengthen your hip flexors you must keep the pelvis posterior rotated
(shorten the distance between your sternum and pubic bone). You might have learned where that is by now. In Health class of course!
Keep your butt muscles tight on the side you are stetching and hold the stretch for at least 3 minutes. There are subtle changes you can make to further enhance the stretch and a partner stretch, but don’t worry about them right now. VMO is an abbreviation for vastus medialis oblique. It’s the teardrop shaped muscle you see on the inside of your knee next to your kneecap when you extend your lower leg and “make a muscle”.

Also, are you playing basketball? Fill us in on training and game schedule, trauma to the knee if any, weight training, plyos, etc…

Who looked at your knee? Sixteen y.o. could also be Osgood-Schlatters.

Jason,