In-season Lifting

I’m entering my basketball season soon and i was wondering how much i should be lifting to keep my strength during the season. practices will be monday thru friday, and i was planning to lift on sat and rest sunday.

will lifting more than this wear me out or be overtraining?

peace

You should be able to strength train twice per calendar week during the season with no ill effects on performance during practice or games.

Yeah, twice per week and 1-2 sets per exercise should be fine to MAINTAIN strength in season. Choose 2 sets for exercises that are of most value, 1 set for secondary lifts.

brad what was your out of season training sessions like? (3 or 4 days a week) What days will be your competition days? How much training experience do you have? The general recommendation that speedkills lists are excellent.

i just turned 15. i’ve been lifting weights for vert seriously for about 2 years. i’m still in my off season and am going to do some more evplosive lifts, plyos, ect… for about 7 weeks still before the season, and take a week off.
practices will be monday through friday. and my games will be probly once a week,mayeb twice, and maybe a couple of tournys.

Lifting weights for two years?
In my opinion thats a little to early with heavey weights. I would recomend curcuit-training until about 16 years old.

I would go with something like…

gpp: 3x15
spp:3x10
pre-comp:3x8
in-season: 3x5-6

all done explosive…puus-ups, squat-jumps…

Good luck…