Hypertrophy for Speed

I asked this question already, but didnt want to continue to hijack the thread it was on, but here is my question, hopefully i cant get a couple different perspectives on this.

First I just want to say I have no background in this and just thought of it after reading a study so dont kill me if its stupid.

Is it possible that weightroom strength plays a limited rule in speed development if any and would the same effects take place with hypertrophy work in the weightroom rather than strength work. I am not talking about hypertrophy all the time til you weigh 240+lbs, I am just talking about on an as needed basis.

I mean obviously there are big differences in weight i mean ben is a monster compared to someone like cason. And there are athletes who squat 600+ and others around 250 running the same times.

Could it be that the gains in the weightroom are more from hypertrophy and the athletes ability to train the added hypertrophy so that the limb is able to move at the same speed as it did before the hypertrophy causing the gain in speed, rather than anything from weightroom strength gains.

I mean you obviously need strength, but more track specific strength from actual speed work, bounds, jumps, sprint drills etc, not from weightroom strength work.

And obviously everyone will have their own optimal hypertrophy level and their power output will be optimized at different levels for different athletes, I am not talking about all sprinters becomes 200lb monsters, but rather just using hypertrophy as needed and putting a lot less emphasis on weightroom work.

Any thoughts?

I have no background here either, but I believe something similar to you. In my opinion, weights aid in sprint performance in two ways:

1. They add muscle mass through which further track specific strength can be expressed.
  2. They reduce neural inhibition and allow your speed/power training to continue to increase in intensity.