Hamstring pulls

I got a first degree hamstring pull the other day.

I suspect that my humble savings will eventually run out for therapy purposes (if I continue getting injured at this rate), so feel free to talk about ways to fix these things at least faster, without professional help, for us non-professional athletes.
I am sure many will find it helpful :slight_smile:

So for a hamstring pull:
I suppose the first thing to do is RICE.
Umm… then what? :o

I also have a list of anti-inflammatory foods that a friend suggested:

• Pineapple (has proteolytic enzyme Bromelaine)
  • Curry powder/turmeric
  • Garlic
  • Cocoa (yay)
  • Tea
  • Blueberries (:D)

(Proteolytic enzymes reduces inflammation by neutralizing the biochemicals of inflammation (i.e., bradykinins and pro-inflammatory eicosanoids) to levels at which the synthesis, repair and regeneration of injured tissues can take place. In one study, football players who suffered from ankle injuries found that proteolytic enzyme supplements accelerated healing and got the players back on the field 50 percent faster than athletes who received placebo tablets).

I also have some Arnica Gel to enhance micro-circulation.

So may I resume training tomorrow ? :o

typically, you can start back with drills with one leg raised 9injured leg down- so A skip would have the opposite knee coming up. After a day or two you can do two legged drills with low knees- I cover much of this in the CFTS manual- it lays out a ten day rehab.
I think you have it don’t you?
BTW, hearing you getting out your tempera and oils makes me think of my father. I’m hoping to post some of his paintings. I’m hopeless at computers as you can tell but someone here may be able to make a file for me to put up. he was a painter and sculptor.

Charlie,

Would the plastic bag heat rub apercreme trick work well for muscle pulls? and if so, and what timeline guidelines (within first few days, after 5 days etc)?