Gaining strength during offseason

My goal is to gain a lot of strength during this offseason. Last season my best 400m split was 52.9. I am aiming to drop that to 50.xx by the end of next season. The problem is that I am moving, and the fitness center there has limited machine exercises, but has a rack of dumbbells, the highest being 45 pounds. I am new to lifting and have only ever lifted free weights once. My question is what dumbbell exercises are most effective, especially for the legs?

I am also debating between running everyday and lifting three times a week, or lifting 3-4 times a week while running 3 times a week. Any suggestions and advice will be greatly appreciated.

1. I would strongly encourage you to learn the basic movements like a squat and a dead lift properly and then put them in place in your training.

2. If you can only use dumbbells the exercises I can think of that would benefit you are mostly single leg exercises such as:
    -Bulgarian Split Squat (can also be done with th front foot elevated)
    -Lunge (can also be done with front foot elevated, or reverse)
    -Step-Ups
    -Pistol Squats
    -Single leg Romanian dead lifts
    -Single leg dead lifts (king dead lift)
    -Single leg calf raises

As for you plans to run everyday, I wouldn’t. I would structure my off-season according to the time I have and then plan backwards basically. But to help you with that, we would need more information, ie length of off-season, bodyweight, body fat% etc.

Thanks for the quick reply. My offseason lasts until November, then indoor season starts. The Track season usually ends around early to mid may depending on how far you go. I am turning 17 in a couple weeks. I am 5’8’’, 145 pounds. I have not had a body fat % measurement.

You need to get a good FPP, (financial preparation phase), find a way to get a gym membership.