Form Checklist

It dawned on me the other day during a workout that I run much better when I vizualize myself running well and remind myself to try to relax my upper body. I’m not a competitive sprinter, and I know very little about form, but I thought it might be useful to have a short checklist to run over in my head regarding good sprinting form before every run. I don’t want to get tangled up with small details, but just for a short list of the big points what would you guys recommend?

Interesting…I have started to do the same and the results have been great especially over the 100m. After I have driven hard out of the blocks, I tell myself that I’m looking good…this causes me to relax,drop the shoulders and let the natural talent I have take over! :smiley:

ever since i started training maybe 16years ago i seen a clip of a certain sprinter running.i was so impressed that i studied and studied and studied videos of him running and training.with the consisitant analysis i was doing everyday it somehow stuck in my brain.it got to the stage that i could correct flaws in my sprinting by just understanding what is correct and not.this model sprinter was the very best and the best model anybody could possibly imagine.he had no flaws what so ever.if i had problems with a cetain aspect iwould visualise this model and then perform.

what i am trying to say guys is,have a model of someone in your mind.learn all you can about the movements.if you look at this athlete as a whole it will effect your sprinting.

That´s my problem…i use to watch many many times elite sprinters running “perfectly”,
many times MO, many times Ben, Carl, Asafa, Ato, Gatlin, etc, etc, etc…but i don´t have any specific sprinter to concentrate, i´ll try analyse just one of them and that will be Gatlin, since my “stride stile” is somekind same as Justins stride.

If you are going to analyze and mimic someone make sure you know the differences between “actions” and “reactions”.