first meet not the best?

People usually don’t run there fastest there first meet of the season right? How much should I look to improve during the season in a 100m race?

hehe I used to improve by around 8 tenths to one second LOL

Sounds strange but true.

I used to run 11.8-12.1 for my first race of the year.

then get that down to 10.8-11.0 by the middle of the season :smiley:

Chris

Carl Lewis used to open up with a 10:5 100m first race and then pop off 9. something.

it all depends on your level of fitness, length of season, etc. but one can look forward to dropping about .5 off a time give or take.

Last season opened with an 11.50s, slowest time I’ve ever run, even before I started training. Within 3 races I was down to 11.0s and by the end of the season running 10.8s consistently.

Its a tough thing to predict though, there are so many factors. It depends on fitness, freshness and previous levels of fitness. I tend to keep track of performances throughout the season, especially in the 60m. And you’ll see guys run 7.0s to open up and then never faster. Then you’ll see a guy run 7.1s and continuously get better throughout the competition season and peak with a 6.7s. Its rare, but I beleive the first scenerio is the result of poor loading/unloading and the second a result of proper loading/unloading. I used to think, wow, what did a guy like that do after his first race to get so good? But I’ve come to the realization that its what he did before that race that got him there, and that what he did during comp season is allow it to happen.