CNS Fatigue in beginners

Provided the volume is low enough, can beginners train more frequently than elite athletes? Nothing extreme, but I ask because time is a valuable commodity, and it will be hard to train weights and sprint work in the same day. Is it feasible (or advisible, for that matter) to train weights one day, and sprint work the next? I am not a sprinter, per se, but I am going to start hitting the track, and would like some advice. I bought CFTS, and am trying to extrapolate what I can from it, but I am new to sprinting, and am a little behind the curve.

Also, what are your suggestions for volume of acceleration & tempo work for me. I would classify my level of fitness as low to moderate, as I don’t do much but lift right now. I was thinking:

Accel: 5 x flying 30m; full recovery (2-5 min)
3 x flying 50m; full recovery
Med ball work (~ 30 throws)

Tempo: 5 x 100; 1 min rest
3 x 200; 2 min rest
1 x 400; cool down

EDIT: Right now, I am planning on 2 accel, 3 tempo days; I am going to change my split to 2 upper (1 limit strength, 1 hypertrophy) and 1 lower, as to accomodate my track work. I will be working on about a 10 day microcycle (like I said, I am not a sprinter, so I don’t have meets to run). I will try to have 1 day off every 4 days or so.

I’ve just finished 1 week based on the following idea from David W.

M. Speed, Plyo, Dynamic lifts
T. Limit lifts
W. Tempo
T. Speed, Plyo, Dynamic lifts
F. Limit lifts
S. Tempo
S. Rest

I have altetered it slightly to fit my personal priorities, I’m not a sprinter either but use sprints in my training. I will do this for 3 weeks then switch for 4 weeks to a program with a bit more rest then back to this again.

I’m definitely not using plyos yet; what is your volume like? How many speed sets do you do? Less than a standard Westside routine? I would think that DE Box Squats and sprints the same day would destroy me…