chondromalacia patellae

I was diagnosed with the afformentioned condition, which basicaly sucks but there you have it.

now, the doc, told me for a month to a month and a half to do isometric quad excersises, and open kinetic chain quad excercises (extentions mainly) that do not bend the knee more than 30 degrees.

he also told me that sprints do not directly affect the problem but could be harmfull.

qustion is, how do i modify my training to heal but not end up slower than a dead slug?

for excample my regular lifting routing is this:

cleans
front squats
back squats (->im still learning the FS so i dont put much weight thus, im doing the back squats )
bench
pull up
good morning
rotator cuff excersises / military press

i can do everything besides the squats and cleans. Im thinging of substituting cleans with hang power cleans, does that sound reasonable?

but what about sprinting? Ill do no block work, and ill try to minimize running tempos, ill try to access a pool or something, though, i REALLY cant swim properly:( Ill do my best anyway.

what do i do with speed work though? i really cant tell, any sugestions on how to at least maintain my speed?

(stats are these:
100m->11.8
squat->140kg 1 rep
bench->95kg 1 rep
clean->95 kg
1.79 m, 86 kg 14% bf currently loosing, slowly though:P)

I’m sure that other people here can give you more complete answers, but if I were you I would not front squat or clean. If I’m having any knee issues either of these movements would tend to aggravate them. I’d substitute high pulls for the cleans so you could get explosive triple extension without the catch (that’s what aggravates my knees, wrists, and elbows).

here is a nice post on Chondromalacia, knee pain stuff, by Bill Hartman

Quad stretching fixed my issues
this one is good
http://www.t-nation.com/findArticle.do?article=body_57cp