Blocks, relaxation, and coaching issues

Whenever I do a standing start, I can stay relaxed throughout the whole run. But today when I started doing block work again, I was getting tense. A lot of people commented on how I didn’t look relaxed at all in the face or shoulders. Any suggestions?

It may just be because of my lack of block practice. Also, on starts, I feel as if I am walking out of the blocks. I feel faster off a standing start then block starts, and I pop right up. I look like Marion Jones basically. Body upright, but head down. Is this a strength issue? Any quick pointers I could look at to try to change this? (Will try to get a video of me doing blocks as soon as possible)

And another little problem…
I am a sophomore in high school. PB is like 11.6 HT almost a year ago. I know I will be able to hit 11.0 this year because I am deticated to do it and because I have found CF. The problem comes with the coaches.

They are typical high school coaches. A “good workout” for them is some sick volume and intensity, with no recovery the following day. Day after day of the same thing. I had a 45 min talk with my coach about how I am comfortable with what I am doing, how I am deticated to what I am doing, and how I would rather do what I am doing then what the “team” is doing(all nicely stated). I was given “the expectations for you to be on this team is for you to do the team workout.” I understand his point and all, but I would be wasting my time if I did their workouts. It’s kind of like until you can show me some dedication and results from your coaching, I will be on the other side of the track, practicing by myself. Any ideas on how I can present this my ideas in a positive, “I might almost consider that” kind of way? If that doesn’t work, where should I go from there?

Thanks for your time

>Mark