Bench Press...when is it gonna come?

hi,

i play football at Wisconsin-Stout and i am a freshman i started this year, but i have a problem with my bench press. i am currently benching around 250lbs and that is not for reps either… i think i can succesfully rep 205 6-8 times. everyone always told me “work on your squat and clean, bench will come” well my bench has never mad dramatic increase while i have seen my squat and clean go up very much. i am currently 6foot 4.75 inches and weight 270lbs. what lifts should i be doing? what are some supplments i could take? any suggestions?

-terv65 :confused:

If you give your training program someone can maybe point out what to change.

What can you squat and clean?

In order to increase your bench, you’re going to have to work at a higher % of your bench. Working at 205 is a little too light to increase your bench. Try doing 3-4 reps at 225 for 4-6 sets with 3-4 minutes rest between sets.

this is me again… i maxxed out at 450 for squat and 280 for clean. back in high school i took creatine which really boosted these before i came to college and i took protein this summer too.

You sound pretty strong for your size. Perhaps structurally you’re just not built well for a big bench press. I’ve got a college basketball player I work with who squats about 500 but can only bench 240 or so (he’s 6’10", 260). His strength coach at school doesn’t help (he has him do 20 rep calf raises, 10 slow then 10 fast to recruit the fast twitch fibers!!) but he is mechanically disadvantaged. Small rib cage + long humerus = bad bench press.