A plan for a thrower/sprinter?

Hey guys,

I’ve decided to try my luck with track and field. I was a 100m sprinter as well as a shot and discus thrower in high school. However, I did not take it seriously at all and the coaching I received was to the extent of “run as fast as you can” or “throw this as far as you can”. I would like to try to enter at least one indoor meet this winter (sprints/shot/discus). I would really like to focus on sprints, but I’m not sure it’s realistic due to my size.

I am 23, 6’1, 235, BF% in the high teens, have a max squat in the low 400s and a max bench in the mid 300s. My VJ is consistently above 30". I went to the track the other day and half-assed timed myself (with a “stopwatch” on my HR monitor) for the 400 (75 seconds), 200 (at around 80% effort: 38 seconds), 100 (at around 80% effort: around low 14 seconds (i missed the button once and was at 15 when i stopped it)).

I’ve spent the last 5 years in the weight room (although i started lifting when i was 13 or 14). I decided in the spring that I wanted to get out of the weight room because I wasn’t having fun. Being on the track has been a blast; I look forward to my workouts.

For the summer I’ve been trying to increase my work capacity, lean body mass, as well as my speed-strength/strength-speed. Here is what I’ve done…

Block 1: back squat, bench, OH press, dl = 5/3/1 (Jim Wendler’s program)
[ul]

squat/jump rope
[li]front squat (3x12, 10, 8)
[/li][li]med ball abs (throw R, throw L, twist) (120 reps, 160, 200, 132); 3, 4, 5x10, x12, x15
[/li][li]jump rope (3min, 5, 7, 4)
[/li]
bench/run
[li]slideboard push-up (x10, 3x, 4x, 5x, 3x)
[/li][li]t bar row (3x10, 8, 6)
[/li][li]run @ 165-175bpm (15min, 20, 25, 17)
[/li]
dead/jump rope
[li]split squat (x12, 3x, 4x, 5x, 3x)
[/li][li]abs (sit ups, leg raise, ab twisting (x10 each, 3x, 4x, 5x)
[/li][li]jump rope intervals (x:30, 6x, 10x, 14x, 8x)
[/li]
military/run
[li]incline push up (x15, 4x, 5x, 6x, 4x)