[400M] Where To Begin?

I sued to think I was good at Track. I became cocky, decided that I wouldn’t have to train and that I would be strong enough in one season to train to get a decent hook to get into college through Division 3.

Had a sharp realization today that I’m an absolute idiot.

I’m 140lbs.

Bench Press:200 lbs
Squat: 190lbs. (Only began relatively recently)

Can anyone tell me where to begin? Atleast or point me in a good direction. I can run about 7 miles nonstop right now.

I was training for a marathon in the summer but I slacked off.

I am currently running 58 seconds for the 400M. What’s the best way to decrease this time? I’m sorry if I’m a Newbie in a sphere of Advanced Sprinters, but if anyone is willing to help, I’d be more than excited.

getting in shape and increasing speed would be a start. look into tempo and acceleration development.

Take a look at the “lactate threshold” thread in this “sprint training” section. It’s mostly about training and race for 400m. Cockysprinter is right though, the muscle loading in sprinting is different from distance running, but your marathon training will have strengthened your tendons and ligaments. Start with great care, create a training program for yourrself and incorporate the different elements of performance into that structure. But acceleration and tempo (on alternate days) will get you on the right path.

The problem I’m having is everyone there seems so much more advanced than me. The skill level that the people there are truly amazing. I’ve considered myself very well acquanted with training but never to that extent yet.

I went through 7 pages of the posts before I realized I have no comprehension of the knowledge that is going there.

May I ask then what should be my largest weakness? I saw someone with an identical bench press yet had about 1.5x higher squat than me and about 16% faster at a near identical height. I’m going to try to stop over emphasizing bench press, and work for squat.