400 Meter Strength

I recently ran a workout which was 3X 400 with 20 mins recovery. For the first 400 I came into the 200 at 23 high 24 low and then just died and ran a 54 mid. The second one I had the outside line and this time my 200 splits were 26 28. I ran another 54 with ease this time. The last one was the same.

My question is what happened why is it so easy to go 26 28 but I struggle to go 24 26 etc.

Thanks
Stiver

You need more speed so that you have more speed reserve. As well, as a coach, I would have you doing 120m or shorter distances until you were running around 10.80 for the 100m, rather than 400m x 3. How old are you?

What are you PR.'s over 100 200 and 400 meters?

Yeah i was about to ask why would u do that workout anyways?

That workout was done as a time trial at the end of a training camp in which we had this past week. Throughout the week we had been doing two day practices. On day 1 we did 200 , 150 ,100 X 4 coming through in 25 for the 200, 18 for the 150 and 13 for the 100

Day 2 we did speed we had done 4X 25 meters, 2X 45 and 2X 60

Day 3 Was a pool workout

Day 4 was speed again we had flying 20’s to start I had 2.15, 2.14, 2.11

Day 5 was the 3 X 400 Time trial

Day 6 Tempo/ Flush

Each morning was a long warm up with a circuit.

PR’s for 200 is 23.0 and 400 is 49.9
I have not seen a time close to that 400 time in over two years
I have been told that I am training to train meaning that I have great consistency to run 3 400’s in decent time with a short recovery but when it comes down to it you really only need to know how to run 1 fast, that is my problem

That right there makes it blantantly obvious that you need to do more speed sessions. Just like Herb said, you need more speed so you can have more speed reserve.