Wandering if this GPP is to long?

hi guys i’m a sprint coach at a certain university trying to convince my head coach that it is not benefitual to just do grass workout from late aug.to early dec. take a month off and then start spp1 on the track in early jan… We do not have indoor meets at my school. In my opinion that’s way to long

His reasoning for this is b/c our track surface is extremely hard. which he thinks is the only reason behind some of our injuries.

My question is- is this Gpp way to long and if not what are some advantages?

And if so, how do I convince a coach who does not understand gpp, spp, l-s,& s-l

His really a distance coach who just so happens to be the head coach.

tell him to visit this site

You can even do an SPP period in an S to L program on grass for at least a substantial portion of it, if the grass is smooth enough.

thanks for your reply CF, so based off your 7 week GPP. I should be able blend my training straight into spp1 on the grass.

CF- since we don’t have indoor and the kids go home for christmas break total about a month.
We do provide the kids with workouts, however they never seem to do them totally.
How long would you do GPP upon return before you jump into SPP1.

One last question how do you improve sprinter gound contact running on the grass for 3-4 months?

also CF due to ncaa rules we can only train outside 4 days a week first 45 days then 5 days a week b/c we do not have a indoor team.
The head coach has us training mon-thurs, just wandering would it be better to train mon, tues have weds day off then thursday, friday?

and how would you implement your GPP DVD using a mon- thursday schedule?

Yes, Mon,tues, thurs, Fri would be better.
Any takers on laying out a plan??

what if you do 6 days a week of training, the sixth being tempo on a saturday? Would that amount to overtraining?