Using the GPP DVD program for people who are not sprinters?

I am an 18 year old freshman in college, and I am looking into getting back into training. I trained for basketball pretty much my entire high school career, and now I havent done any training at all in about 6-8 months.

My question is, can the GPP DVD be used for a person who is not a sprinter? I am training mainly to maintain health and to improve physique, but I wouldnt call myself a bodybuilder. I am just trying to get into shape and lean out a little bit. I am 5’11 and 165 and in pretty decent shape, but I have a state of the art gym across the street from my dorm and I dont want to waste that access.

This leads me to my second question: If I am not training to sprint, are the hill sprints and medball work needed? Can I get away with the warmup, tempo/abs, and weights and then not do the sprinting? I am on an extremely tight schedule so this is why I ask this.

In summary, I am wondering if the GPP program would be a wise choice for me to follow if I am just trying to improve my physique and get into shape. And are the high intensity speed days needed if I will never be sprinting? (I spend my time in a boat for my sport) :smiley:

If nothing else they add variety to your training and the benefits of speed carry over to all sports. I would suggest give it a run through once and you may adapt it from there…never know you might end up a sprinter :smiley:

I may end up adding some sprinting to the program, but im still not sure. I used to run track a bit and I am pretty much done with it I think. However, I find charlie’s methods the most effective and I want to stick with them. This is why I am wondering if I should follow the gpp dvd program, but I replace the sprints with a 2 mile jog or something to that nature. I will not be doing anything that requires high intensity such as sprints, so why do them besides add variety? I may end up adding them but I am not sure…