Timing Gates??

I was just wondering what you use for electronic timing gates and what is a good product at a good price?
Im an engineer and was thinking of making something like this and ws looking at what features i might need. I wonder would there be a market for this kind of thing.

I was thinking along the lines of this:

2 Stations

Main station has small display and keypad for config, plus a laser beam to start counter

second station has laser beam to stop counter.

Time is then output to display and stored in memory on main station.

a usb connector can be added and all times can be downloaded later to pc for analysis.

To be ultra sh!t hot then a 3rd station can be added that will go around runners waist and measure heart rate and temp etc and approx speed and time every half second and this also gets relayed to station 1 and also stored in memory for analysis later on pc

What do you coaches think of this? would there be a market for it or has it been done already? i googled but found nothing relevant apart from a crappy piece on gillettesports.com that looks bulky and not the best.
Any comments idea’s??

That would be amazing. Please, someone, make an item such as this!

The Gillette system doesn’t even work. He won’t even sell them anymore because he says the unit often does not trip/stop at the finish.

I use the SpeedTrap II timers. They’re ok but are like $1400.

There would have to be a good market if you could make a system similar to the Gillette unit but add capability for multiple “finish units” to get splits. If you could price along the lines of Gillette, that would be great. It would also be nice if the unit actually worked…

J good idea but these gates are available.they are also very very useful…ie-flying runs,checking the zones of a particular part of the race etc…accurate and fast.very useful tool for testing or reference.

can’t seem to find products on the net but are available