Tempo distances and intensity

Hello! A few questions about tempo work :

1. I don’t have access to a long grass field; can I use shorter distances (50m) with turnarounds to achieve longer distances (100-200m)?

2. I know that tempo runs must be done at 65-75% of best time; I tried to test myself on the surface I use for this type of work and to run tempo sprints accordingly, but I found them very taxing…

Should I run “by the clock” or “by the feel”, if you understand what I mean?

1. I’m a total novice of this type of training : which amount of volume can I start with?

Is this ok (Charlie’s short circuit)?

100+100+100
100+200+100
100+100+100

‘+’ indicates 100m walk, break between sets would be 200m walk (or 2-3 min).

Thanks in advance!

worst comes to worst you could use stationary bike or pool, dont dwell too much on tempos, their point is to flush the muscles (and well build/maintain cardivascular qualities). Thing is if it feels too tiring afterwards, or you feel drained by it, dont do it.

tempo sould help with recovery not hinder it, and frankly, it needs some training experience to go at 75% for the CF cirquits, build up slowly

the short cirquit sould be ok, even at 75%, dont take so big breaks, you dont need too.

a thing to remember is this, if you can start and finish the tempo at the same pace without killing yourself, its good

As epote said running is only 1 option.

To clarify it is >75% of best on that surface over that distance. Don’t use your 100mPB as the basis, yes it will give you a general guide but you need to allow for the conditions.

Your work capacity will increase over time. Tempo isn’t necessarily easy but you recover from it quickly. I recall PJ recently posting that Olu found the tempo sessions the hardest of the week.