Steffensen Outraged

Steffensen told to qualify DANIEL LANE
April 11, 2010 - 12:08AM

AN OUTRAGED John Steffensen ;)claims he’s being forced to compete at the Commonwealth Games trials in Perth this week despite having back surgery 12 weeks ago.

Steffensen, the defending Commonwealth Games 400 metres gold medallist, has been granted an exemption, but was warned if three of his rivals ran the A-qualifying time this week it was possible all the individual 400m positions could be filled by the end of the month.

If that happened, the best Steffensen could hope for is to go to New Delhi as a relay runner.

“I applied for exemption three weeks after my back operation,” he said. "Basically the reply I received is I have to race. They’ve [Australian Athletics] pushed me into a code red. There’s no backing here, there’s no sense of ‘you’ve given good service to the sport’; it’s as though they talk as if I’m in my first year of the sport.

"I’m a grown man. These guys don’t pay me, they don’t come to the gym every day to help me, they don’t hold my water bottle, but they want to dictate when they want to pick [the athletes] and when they don’t want to pick. It doesn’t work like that in track and field. It might in cricket, but it doesn’t in track and field.

“They want me to go out and sacrifice my season, sacrifice my body and I don’t know if my sacrifice is going to get me anywhere.”

Hurdler Sally McLellan, pole vaulter Steve Hooker, 400m hurdler Jana Rawlinson and distance runner Craig Mottram have all been granted an exemption from the meeting.

However, Australia’s high performance manager Eric Hollingsworth, who coaches Steffensen’s rival Sean Wroe, insisted Steffensen was not being discriminated against.