Snatch technique

After reading a few books and watching some videos I can get the bar overhead, but some critique would be great. Thanks!

http://www.putfile.com/olyjoel

Joel, looks good. Excellent for being self taught.

Tom

Joel,

Nice start. Good news is you are obvouly flexible enough to do the lifts well and so far you are doing pretty well.

In terms of your lift and with reference to the article at the following address:

1 http://cis.squirming.net/category/strength_and_conditioning/237/

2 http://cis.squirming.net/category/strength_and_conditioning/322/

3 http://cis.squirming.net/category/strength_and_conditioning/239/

Start position is OK except that you need to keep your chest up even more.

The first pull is characterised by your knees moving BACK the angle of your back staying the same (see 2nd article) - pictures 1 to 2.

Next AND MOST IMPORTANTLY your knees move forward under the bar. This is known as the double knee bend. See article 3.

At this point the bar should be in the “groove” in your leg between the pelvis and your legs - see picture 3.

From here you shrug violently upwards and triple extend your hips, knees and ankles. Picture 4

The bar will move upwards and you will PUSH YOURSELF under the bar (this you seem to already be doing pretty well) See the rest of the pictures after picture 4.

You need to work on the double knee bend. at the moment your legs don’t come forward under the bar so you loose all of the elastic energy developed by this movement. If you can master this movement the amount of weight you can lift and the power you can produce will increase significantly.

Here’s another look at the snatch in slow motion and everything is summarised again in article 1.

Read all the articles at the site provided.

I hope this helps.

TC