Shoulder Problems

Alright, I have been asking a lot about gymnastics movements lately because of shoulder problems. It is not a pain I feel when I push on the shoulder, but feels as though it is in the joint. I have to consciously try to lift my arms and strain very hard for forceful movements that normally are no problem. I hurt them during camp from the high volume of drills(I am a linemen currently). Any ideas on what this is and how I could resolve it.

Always be careful with shoulders especially in football contact. I have had numerous friends end up having surgery because they didn’t take the proper rehab serious and add the appropriate strength program to follow. I am not an expert but from my personal experience rotator problems feel in the joint and definitely require proper strength training after diagnosis and rehab - often we don’t pay enough attention to rotators. I also would dramatically remove overhead pressing movements and watch bench pressing until you get the pain problem solved and diagnosed. There have been some good posts regarding shoulder injuries and workouts on elitefitnesssystems.com in the Q&A for Sports. Another interesting article I read a few years back was from Ian King regarding upper back and trap strength in relation to forward pressing movement strength. Many of us are much stronger forward than pulling and we should be equal. Shoulders get a lot of action - so be careful as not to put yourself out for much longer.

See an ortho guy if you have insurance. Kinda sounds like a rotator strain or damage to the capsule. In either case taking hits in the arm from football place MUCH stress on the shoulders. Tears and dislocations are common.

Again, hard to dx through cyberspace. Could be something minor or you could be a surgical canidate. Small alligators grow into big alligators. Get it checked out.

could be a torn labrum