outdoor goals

i was a freshman competing at the simplot games the other weekend. i ran a 24.88 FAT 200 in prelims with flats and no blocks on a banked track. the race was pretty technically sound as far as any high school freshman goes, i would post video, but the girl running the camera did a horrible job. What do you think is a reasonable goal for the outdoor season, spikes and blocks?

Originally posted by misguided
We have to push ourselves for RMs to get an A, so it’s fairly high intensity. After school i have plyometrics, with usually between 25-45 depth jumps. I stretch before and after every activity, I take a contrast shower after p.e., and i do an ice massage on my lower legs after plyometrics, since they get sore.

Firstly, I can’t understand how any school could grade someone purely on their physical performance rather than their understanding of the concepts taught (however flawed they may be).

Secondly, if you’re legs are that sore after any exercise you either have an existing problem with your legs, or that exercise is causing that problem (more than likely in this instance). Either way, you should avoid it and “if pain persists…”

I just went to a six hour seminar on BFS because my high school is implementing it next year. I’m really depressed right now. I think I’m going to only do Spring track and just train on my own in Winter next year.

Quote of the day:
“You don’t wear a hat when you step in the strength room…I don’t have anything against hats, though. When I do my speed work I always have a huge hat on.”
This was from the guy giving the clinic.

BFS stands for “Bigger, Faster, Stronger.” It is a structured lifting program that seems to be quite popular in high schools.

The “25 - 45 depth jumps” after the mile run and weight training seems like trouble waiting to happen.

xlr8