Need to know!!!

I have 1,5 years general weight training experience. Soccer player. 190 cm 84 kgs. Lean. Pretty thin, maybe structural deficiencies.
Should I be doing max strenght work with bench squat etc now or do as Ben Johnson: get more muscle with using hypertrophy before using power lifts low rep/high int.
Need to know!
Thanks to all helpful people!!

I’m sorry, I’m really bad with the metric system(as are most Americans). Can someone convert those figures to ft/in and lbs? What are your current PB’s in the main lifts(squat, bench…). The purpose of hypertrophy phases are to increase strength to weight ratio. If your current PB’s are relatively weak then some hypertrophy may be needed, but you also have to take into account limb legth when determining this. I think we are the same age, but I have an extremely extensive background in sports and am pretty muscular so I dont think that too much hypertrophy would be necessary for me.

190cm= approx 6’3
84 Kgs= approx 185

Current PB squat: below paralell: 200 lbs
Bench: 200 lbs
I’ve played soccer fulltime since I was 5 y. o

Your weight seems to suggest that hypertrophy is not needed, but your squat is relatively weak. Are your legs pretty long in comparison with your torso?

Yes I have long legs… Started training squat 1 year ago.

I have found that low rep squats 2-3 reps, have done more to jack up my poundages than high rep squats. Try this;

Mon - Squat 2 x 2 reps, with max training resistance. (MTR).
Stiff leg deadlift. 2 x 4 (MTR)
Wed - Squat 3 x 3 reps, (MTR)(Rest 4 secs at bottom of each rep,
before pushing back up.)

Fri - Squat. work up to true 2 rep max.(unless u have game on saturday, if so then do 2 rep MTR.)
Stiff leg deadlift. 2 x 4 (MTR)

Notes; 1) MTR means max training resistance. This is NOT the most u can do, but the most intensity u can comfortably use without physching yourself up. Any more and you’re over training.

2)If u can only do squats 2 x per weak, then do 1 more set on both sessions.