My 400m Guy's Prep Heading into Olympic Trials

I started training an athlete in mid-March. He came in with PB’s of 6.95 in the 60m, 21.68 in the 200m (from two years back), and some dodgy 400m relay splits (who cares what you split in a relay? I hate when people quote relay splits like they’re real 400m times). Obviously, with a restricted amount of time and his history of injury, we aren’t looking to break any world records, but running some injury free races and seeing what he can do was the goal coming into the training block. Also, improving on his 49 second 400m PB was a priority.

I had taken him out to Michigan to see the great ESTI in October, and he put us through a couple of KitKat GPP workouts, which had my athlete puking quite heartily, making me look like a model of fitness in the process. I felt great after the KitKat workouts. ESTI had used the program previously for his athletes with very good success, and he encouraged me to give the program a try this indoor season, which led to a massive 200m indoor PB for me.

This athlete asked me to coach him after the weekend in Michigan, but I wasn’t sure I could help him, nor was I sure I wanted to make the kind of commitment it takes to truly coach someone effectively. I suggested he talk to his university coach and see if he could modify the program slightly for him. He ended up running for his university team again this year, and again ended up hurt. In the past, the same thing has occurred. They continually make him run the indoor 200 metre bend in GPP, which has led to chronic foot problems.