Legs going sideways at start.

I have noticed lately that when I go for a rapid acceleration, my legs
go sideways in the first several strides. Even from a standing start.
I don’t know if this is good or not.
Perhaps I’m comming out at too low an angle and my legs are forced to go slightly sideways? Perhaps it’s just naturally what they should do. Just about every sprinter does this though and my question is; is it actually ideall ?

Good question, I don’t have the technical expertise to saw anything concrete but from my observations, as you say it seems to happen inevitably. I see it a lot in fast but not so advanced sprinters (10.60-10.80 guys in my training group). It seems they come out with their legs very sideways, for some time when I was a newbie I thought that was good and was something I was looking to do as a sign I was improving my acceleration. But now I think about it and the legs going too sideways certainly must not be good. It means that you’re losing power because you’re stepping inefficiently (with the inside of your spike plate). The cause? The logical reasons I can think is that it’s due to not enough strength or technique to sustain the early acceleration angles, so although you see it in advanced sprinters they’re probably not doing it at as a pronounced angle as a beginner and they’re probably stepping well. Anyone with a more informed opinion, just wanted to throw something out to see if we discuss this.

I’m not 100 % sure but I think that legs going a little bit sideways (slightly larger than the hips) are good for balance. When you start, due to a pushing with the front leg, there are lateral forces and this increase in stance can avoid the center of mass to be out of the support base. However, the legs should be at hip stance after a few steps.

LOL I have the same problem, I can barely stay in my lane on the first step (I didn’t even notice until my training partner pointed it out.