Is This a Good Enough Weight Lifting Routine for the 100 meter Dash?

I’m 24 and I’m a newbie to track and field. I haven’t read any books or anything on how to train for the 100 meter dash. By doing the following routine I not only want to develop the muscles that are essential for the 100 meter dash I also want to develop my beach muscles. If any one of you know how to tweak my routine a little so that I can reach my goals more efficiently it will be fully appreciated. I don’t want to deviate too far from my original plan however as this plan that I laid out hits every muscle that I deem essential for looking good on the beach. I have been doing this routine for 3 weeks now and I am already noticing a change in the way my body looks. I don’t want to lose any muscle anywhere on my body.

Here is my weight training routine:

Monday

Squat 12 12 12
Straight legged Dead lift 12 12 12
Calf raises 15 12
Bicep curls 12 10
ab wheel

Wednesday

Lateral raises 12 10
Dumbbell press 12 10
Inclined Dumbbell press 12 10
Dips 12 10
ab wheel

Friday

Bent over lateral raises 12 10
Straight legged Deadlifts 12 12 12
Chin ups 12 10
Pull Ups 12 10
ab wheel

I will be doing plyometrics and track work on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday…

which is more important looking good or running fast? :confused:If you want to use weights to run fast then get http://shop.charliefrancis.com/collections/weights if not there are a gazillion weights programs you could use.

I can’t tell if it’s a serious questions.

Did Charlie athletes have “beach” muscles?

Most of the team had a similar look.
Otherwise go and buy Arnold’s encylopedia of modern bodybuilding.

You want to develop beach muscles and sprint at the same time?

What are you doing on the track?

It’s a good question to help others understand the difference between looking good vs performing.

Here is something I have commented on often when people ask about training, weights, getting fit and improving their speed.