How to know which event I'm best suited for?

In my case, just coming back from years of no sprinting, I need to learn to be fast again. Fifteen years ago I was sort of a “hybrid” runner. I ran 200’s/400’s/long jump in track but also ran cross country and could run a mile in under 4:50 late in the XC season. I never really knew or understood what event I was best suited for in track, meaning that it didn’t know whether or not I was a 100/200 type, a 200/400 type, or, with my XC experience, maybe even an 800 type. I didn’t have the explosion of a 100m man but I could put up a 11.3, 22.7-23.0 200m and around 52 for the 400m. I regret not having ever really done any specific training for these, since our “coach” just had us running laps in practice. I’m still learning about training and how my body responds to certain methods. Right now I need both speed and speed endurance and, after I get into decent shape, I’ll decide which events to focus on whether it’s 100/200, 200/400, or, as someone on another forum suggested, even the 800.

personally i would suggest asking yourself.if you prefer training for X or running X then i would train for it.

nio point in training for something you hate running or hate the training!!!

X-man,

I would love to run the 100m in 10.5 but I don’t know how realistic that is, no matter how much I want it.

I suppose that my range would be 200m at the low end and maybe even up to 1 mile. In the past I’ve run as low as 22.7 in the 200 and under 4:40 for the mile. But, like I said before, it’s tough for me to know since I never really trained for anything. Back in HS, our “track coach” was the basketball coach serving a role basically, and he just had us run laps–and that was our “practice” for track. No specific training at all, so I never found my niche.