Help with competition phase training / volume.

Hello all,

I’m 34 and run the masters 100m and 200m. I’m 6’3, 192 lbs (hopefully 185 for my peak in August). This is my first year competing. I would really like to run below 12.25 and break 25.00 in the 200m at the North American Masters in Clermont, FL in late August.

I have a few questions. My 100m pb is 12.61 (+0.6) which I ran in early June. I ran a 12.79 100m (-0.3 as well as a rotten start) in late June and haven’t run since due to the fact I’m in the southern US for the summer, and there are few meets in my area (Fayetteville, AR). My 200m pb is 25.41

I am running at the North American Masters meet in Clermont, Fl in late August.

I just have a couple of questions regarding my training.

As this is my competition phase (more or less), my coach has me taking it easy on the weights.

1. I am currently doing the upper body circuit 2 to 3 times per week (usually on tempo days later in the evening). I feel this is really helping with my upper body strength. Is this an OK thing to be doing twice a week on tempo days?

2. I have not been doing the medball circuit as part of my tempo workout as recommended in GPP Essentials. I do abs two or three times per week, but usually for no more than 10 minutes per day. Should I add some medicine ball throws in? Which ones are most important that I could do on my own? I’m currently usually training solo.

3. My coach has me taking it especially easy on weights for my legs, as I did strain my back slightly doing deadlifts (320 lbs) in late May. I am currently only doing Bulgarian split squats, with some Smith machine squats. My free weight squat form is not very good. Should I continue with Smith machine squats for safety, or should I avoid them altogether? What volume / intensity?

4. Should I do some deadlifts for maintenance, perhaps at a lighter weight? Should this be done twice per week after speed?

Thank you for your input.

Sincerely,

T