Getting faster at 25??

Ok this to me is odd. I played football and ran track at Eastern Kentucky University and my last two years there I just ran track. My career was a good one I ran a 10.36 100m. A 20.96 200m and a 6.78 60m. I won the 100 and 200 each year from my sophomore year on at conference going to the division one NCAA regional meets all three years. I was an unusual sized sprinter being 6’4 and staying around 230lbs. I had an injury proned Jr and Sr. year though ending my seasons early. I graduated in 2005 and just lifted all year ran some but not much at all. The following year I decided to run indoor. So I began training 1 month out from the season and ended up running a 21.31 200m indoor and my pr of 6.78 in the 60m. That was odd to me… I got busy with work and stopped training again just lifting and jogging. Two months ago I decided to begin training for a local track meet in Kentucky to break the 100, 200m and 400m age bracket records. I have again been training alone.

Lifting: Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday

Sprinting: Monday, Wednesday,

PLyo’s and Drills: Friday

Tempo: Tuesday Thursday

I will get into the training specifics later. But at week 6 I decided to finally put a clock to my workout to see where I am. I felt like a 10.5 but I needed to know. So Wednesday I ran 3x100.

The first 100 no blocks self timed was a 10.71 basically used as a safety warm up run.

The second 100 no blocks self timed was a 10.37!! I was astonished but it just didn’t feel right. There was a slight tail wind but it was also a raining low 80’s day which without blocks canceled the wind advantage in my book.

So I called my coach who was just across the street at his office and he came up to time my third. I didn’t want to tell him what I had previously ran because I didn’t want to excite him like I just did my self.

My coach is a knowledgeable coach and has trained 2 110m hurdle female Olympic athletes so he is an honest knowledgable guy.