Form Critique - What Should I Work On?

Hi Guys,

I’m hoping to get some form analysis from the experienced members. I just started sprint training this summer, at 31 years old, self taught. I’ve played sports all my life but never focused on getting better at sprinting.
This is a 40m sprint, done at ~90% and trying to think about form cues. The only thing that stands out to me is the weird Adrian Peterson hobble at the end, which I suspect is related to fat pad impingement in my left knee that restricts knee flexion.

//youtu.be/8aZgywRpTwI

I appreciate your help.

My times over the past few weeks are as follows:

10m - 1.89
20m - 3.11
30m - 4.35
40m - 5.49

Thanks

How are you timing this? I am guessing with some electronic device?

Are you able to film it in real time opposed to slow mo?

What have you been doing for training? And what have been the sports you have been doing?

Hi Angela,

I’ll get a real time video uploaded next time I’m training with a friend.

Those are electronic timed with a Jawku Speed.

Training is basically:
2-3 days per week of Sprints + (Jumps and/or Throws) + Weights
and usually 2 low intensity days per week, tempo runs or higher rep work.

Weights are usually Squats + Bench + Rows, low volume, sometimes I change it up

Lacrosse is my main sport. Played a lot of hockey growing up as well.

Sounds good.

Do you know what basic sprint mechanics should look like?

I think I have a good idea but that’s why I’m here. Knowing and demonstrating also aren’t the same.

Form cues? Like one at the beginning and one when you are running upright?
Since you are not smooth (yet), it definitely shows. I would think Charlie would have said to keep those two separate as a beginner. Ques, and phases or areas of a sprint.
Gradually, as you get better you will be able to combine the two.

You seem to be consistent and take action fast. It will be fun to see how much you improve over the course of a year.

Do you have any of the products sold here?