fat guy in a little coat

Hey All,
For some reason, when I think of myself wanting to do a 400m sprint, I think of Chris Farley desperately trying to fit into a small(er) man’s coat. That’s because I’m 5’10", 220 lbs, and 183 lbm (about 17.3% bodyfat).

I’ve heard that 400m sprinting is the best of the best for fat loss (that and general fitness is my main goal). I can sprint 200m all out before getting tuckered out and in general, can only do tempo-style pace to get to 400m. I’m not so much about time as I am about completing the 400m in under 50 seconds. So, here are my questions.

1. On my tempo running days, should I jog between 400-800m?
  2. I am a student first and a recreational athlete second… meaning that a 400m sprint followed by full recovery doesn’t fit into my time schedule. I’ve got about 1 to 1.5 hours a day to train… maybe I should train with hockey-style energy work (lactate threshold training)?

Thanks for any and all help!

Kurt

Hi

Im no expert, and I have no clue what kind of shape you are in at the moment, but since you compared youself to Chris Farley, you probably should work on general fitness workouts first:

Weight lifting with medium to high reps focusing on the core exercises like pullups, bench, squat, presses, deadlift? ( you can even start with bodyweight stuff first if you havent lifted in a while)

lots of extensive tempo work (for example 8x200 with 45 seconds rest,2x10x100 with 30 sec rest between reps, 5 minutes between sets, 6x300, 3 sets of 100,200,100,200,100…etc. Since your focusing on the 400m you can do more tempo than a 100m guy so start slow and do what you can do, and try to work up to around 3000m per session. I wouldnt go higher than 400m for a tempo rep (and really wouldnt go higher than 300)

also do some abdominal work