End of season break / Longer breaks

What are the longer breaks good for? Like two weeks or more…

I’ve been training for 15 years and never had more then two weeks off.

It acts as a supercompensation period for your body.

What is taking so long?

You will loose both strength and endurance.

I think the main reasons are to give the body a chance to heal the aches and niggles that accumulate over a long competitive season and to allow the mind a break to re-gain motivation for the mentally and physically exhausting GPP. I personally never did more than 2 weeks either, though, and even that I disliked because my first one or two weeks back training were always hampered by severe DOMS.

As a thrower I had 2 weeks off completely, then I would start active recovery by doing things not associated with throwing or the track. I would bushwalk, climb play other sports etc…

And it was to get over mental fatigue and physical fatigue - injuries and general tiredness.

I would come back to level not a lot lower then prior - power and speed where down, for example a standing 30 was slower by about .2 my OL and squats where down by 5%, but after a 4 week cycle both where back to near same levels.

The longer you take off, the more gradual your return must be- or the result will be what you experienced.

As a coach I have 6 weeks off after Easter, normally returning about the 3rd week of May (depends on when Easter falls).

I personally need the break to recharge the batteries and mentally recover from a pretty hectic and busy schedule. Our comp schedule started in October and won’t end until Easter, so its a long time to be ‘on the ball’ keeping up with the various comps ensuring athletes are in the shape to do what they have to do. Just on the weekend I had athletes in Adelaide SA, Loxton (260kms north of Adelaide) & Sydney. The week before it was Adelaide, Melbourne, Brisbane & a pro meet at Tea Tree Gully.